Google made a subtle change to Chrome that could help it track you online
Summary
On the plus side, if you sign in to Chrome on a different computer, all your stuff — including extensions, bookmarks, browsing history and saved passwords — will show up, ready to use.But on the minus side for people concerned about privacy, Google can add that data to the vast amount that it already has about you through other linked accounts, such as Maps and YouTube.Ultimately, this change more explicitly frames Chrome as another Google service, rather than as a neutral platform to surf the web.The interface could cause people to "think theyre already syncing and thus theres no additional cost to increasing Googles access to their data," he writes.However, as Green writes, the change still completely eliminates an option that used to be available to users who never signed in to Chrome in the first place, but still wanted to use other Google services.