202302 Oct

Abstract Award Winners Announced at ASTRO 2023


The 2023 Abstract Award winners have been announced by the American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) during its 65th Annual Meeting being held in San Diego, CA. Winners were selected by ASTRO leadership from the abstracts designated as Plenary or Clinical Trials presentations. The two recipients of this year’s Leibel Award for 2023 are: Vinai Gondi, MD, Northwestern Medicine Cancer Center, Warrenville, and Northwestern Medicine Proton Center, for “Primary Endpoint Results of NRG CC003: Phase IIR/III Trial of Prophylactic Cranial Irradiation (PCI) with or without Hippocampal Avoidance (HA) for Small Cell Lung Cancer (SCLC).” Bradford Hoppe, MD, MPH, FASTRO, Mayo Clinic Florida, “Consolidative Radiotherapy in Place of Autologous Stem Cell Transplant in Patients with Low-Risk Relapsed/Refractory (R/R) Classic Hodgkin Lymphoma (cHL) Treated with Nivolumab plus Brentuximab Vedotin: CheckMate 744.” The international award is designed to foster continuing medical education, assist in career development and help establish relationships with ASTRO members who may serve as scientific mentors to the recipient. This year’s recipient is Jose Felipe Munoz Lozano, MD, Hospital Universitario, “Development and Evaluation of a Mobile App for Radiotherapy Patient Education.” This award acknowledges clinical research being performed by young scientists. The 2023 ASTRO Annual Meeting Award was presented to: Alexander Allen, MD, University of Maryland School of Medicine, “The Impact of a Precision Medicine Navigator on Inequities Associated with Utilization of Genomic Tests in Black Men with Prostate Cancer.” This award is designed to promote clinical research among radiation oncology nurses.

Source: Itnonline